# Minutes of the AGM for CSSR 2016

Minutes by: David Beard

### Chair: Tania Smith Attending:

Tess Laidlaw	Jeanie Wills	Olena Shcherbakova
Ritika Chauhan	John Moffatt	Lori Leigh Davis
Patricia Ofili	Shannon Purves-Smith	Cori Brewster
Pierre Chiron	David Beard	Kyle Gerber
Pierre Zoberman	Randy Harris	Deb Rolfes
Julie Dainville	Bruce Dadey	Alice den Otter
Benoit Sans	Tracy Whalen	

#### 3:10 Call to Order by Tania Smith

John Moffatt circulates attendance sheet

 Move: Approve the Agenda David Beard; Second: Pierre Zoberman; Motion Passes

#### 3:15 Approval of Minutes by Tania Smith

• Move: Approve the Agenda Shannon Purves-Smith; Second: Pierre Zoberman; Motion Passes with seven abstentions

#### 3:18 Business arising from the Minutes by Tania Smith

- Ryan McGuckin took on the unofficial but much needed position of Webmaster Assistant
- Bruce Dadey filled the vacant "regular member" position in the Advisory committee
- Call for a Working Committee for revisions to the Constitution

#### 3:20 President's Report by Tania Smith

- Smith reports on the benefits of affiliating with Congress
  - Congress coordinates facilities and hospitality, makes it easier for organizers
  - This year we applied for and were awarded a Congress subsidy for our International Keynote Speaker (Pierre Chiron). As a condition of his funding, his speech had to be open to all Congress attendees, though none but CSSR attendees participated.
- Smith reports on the two Keynotes on the programme this year -- a bilingual conference program reflects the society's bilingualism. Smith hosted one of our keynotes, Jan Swearingen, at her home this week.
- Smith thanks the Executive (Zoberman, Moffatt, Nicolas, Beard) for work on the annual meeting/program. Beard did a lot of work on the review of proposals and putting together the initial programme.
- Smith reports on challenges facing CSSR:

- The society's membership and conference attendance will likely remain small due to the difficulty of identifying oneself as a rhetorician, paucity of rhetoric programs and positions in postsecondary institutional culture. We should view the society as an international, multilingual society that meets in Canada.
- The society sees lack of growth in rhetorical graduate education as a challenge that the society can meet together.
- Currently the past-president serves as the journal editor for two years, limiting our journal to every two years. A biennial journal is a challenge to securing submissions of volume and quantity.
- Smith reports on the complexities of sharing the CSSR-SCER acronym with the Canadian Society for the Study of Religion. Discussions to change our name would be part of Constitutional revisions.
  - President's report: Moved to Accept by John Moffatt
  - Second by Alice den Otter, Accepted by voice vote.

#### 3:35 Webmaster Report by Tania Smith

- Smith reports on the social media program (Google Plus, Twitter, Blog) and explains how posts are automatically forwarded between these media. Encourages others to participate in posting material, and welcomes assistance with labor. The website occasionally goes down. We have over 120 subscribers on our blog's email list.
  - Report: Moved to Accept by John Moffatt; Second by Alice den Otter, Accepted by voice vote.

#### 3:50 Financial Report by John Moffatt

- Moffatt reports that Beard (Secretary) cannot serve as treasurer of CSSR because he is not a citizen, and therefore he (Moffatt) has taken on the roles of banking, tracking membership payments, and preparing the Financial Report
- Moffatt reports that Congress has returned overcharges to CSSR, and largely as a result, we had net earnings this year. The financial report balance sheet was viewed on the screen.
  - Report: Motion by Wills, Seconded by Whalen, Accepted by Voice Vote

#### 4:00 The Journal (*Rhetor*) Reports by Zoberman and Wills

- Wills reports that *Rhetor* 6 is nearing completion.
- Zoberman reports that *Rhetor* 7 is in the review process.
- Zoberman reports discussions of possible structure to the editorial team: possibly separating the function of past president from editor, or possibly welcoming guest editors to work on thematic issues.
  - Motion by Purves-Smith. Second by den Otter, Accepted by Voice Vote

#### 4:10 Nominations and elections to committees, by Tania Smith

- Benoit Sans for Member at Large, elected by acclamation.
- Julie Dainville (11) and Kyle Gerber (7) for student member of the advisory, Dainville elected.

- Tracey Whalen and Tess Laidlaw for Advisory, elected by acclamation.
- Patricia Ofili for Student Member Position of Editorial Board, elected by acclamation.
- Alice den Otter and Benoit Sans for Editorial Board, elected by acclamation.
- Bruce Dadey for Webmaster Assistant, working together with continuing assistant Ryan McGuckin

## 4:25 Motion to Expand the Number of Graduate Student Members on the Editorial Board to two to include Kyle Gerber

• Motion by Beard; Second by Harris; Accepted by Voice Vote

#### 4:30 Move to continue to meet with FedCan in 2017 and 2018, by Tania Smith

• Motion by Wills; Second by Moffatt; Accepted by Voice Vote

#### 4:35 Selecting the Conference theme for 2017 in Ryerson University, by Tania Smith

The election results (# first round of votes / # second round of votes):

- National Identity and Rhetoric (suggested by Kyle Gerber) (11/6)
- Rhetoric, Seduction, and Sincerity (Pierre Zoberman) (9/5)
- Ethics, Ethos and Rhetoric (Tania Smith) (10/0)
- Rhetoric and Interdisciplinarity / Disciplinarity (Tess Laidlaw) (11/8)
- Glocalization and Rhetoric (Pierre Zoberman) (3)

"Rhetoric and Interdisciplinarity / Disciplinarity" is selected as the topic for the 2017 session at Congress.

#### 4:45 Working Group on the Revision of the Constitution and By-Laws, by Tania Smith

- The membership must be surveyed for their input on issues.
- The terms of reference for committees may be separated from the constitution.
- The length of terms of service for officers may be reconsidered.
- The presumed move through the 4 major executive committee positions may be rethought.
- Nominated: Moffatt, Beard, Shannon Purves-Smith, Deb Rolfes, Lori Leigh Davis.
- Smith and Zoberman would like to be included in all committee communication.

### 4:50 Renaming the "Graduate Student Prize Committee" to "Student Prize Committee" and related changes as proposed by Tania Smith

• Moved by Whalen; Second by Beard; Accepted by Voice Vote

#### 4:55 Whalen announces an open position in rhetoric at the University of Winnipeg.

#### 5:00 Zoberman gives the president a bouquet flowers. Meeting adjourns with applause.