Minutes of the 2018 AGM of the Canadian Society for the Study of Rhetoric (CSSR/SCER) At Congress for the Humanities and Social Sciences 2018 University of Regina, May 29, 2018

Present: Jeanie Wills, John Moffatt, Devon Moriarty, Benoît Sans, Sean Zwagerman, Stephen Dadugblor, Andrew McGillivray, Bruce Dadey, Sarah Hakimzadeh, Tess Laidlaw, Kyle Gerber, Tania Smith

Tania Smith called the meeting to order: 4:04 P.M.

- 1. Kyle motioned to approve the agenda; John M seconded. All were in favour.
- 2. Approval of the Minutes from 2017: John motioned to approve; Devon seconded. All were in favour.
- 3. President's Report (appended?)
 - a. We didn't arrange keynote speakers for this year, taking into consideration the location of Congress in Regina, SK., and the expectation of a smaller conference.
 - b. Based on a draft of Roles and Timelines for the Executive, the Executive dealt with items within the society as they arose.
 - c. The president arranged for the publications around Congress, (CFPs, Programmes, etc.)
 - d. The president forwarded proposals to David Beard, who arranged the reviews, reported back to the president, who then responded to those who had proposed papers.
 - e. Tania corresponded with Bruce Dadey regarding web presence.
 - i. Tania has been researching new options for more reasonably priced web hosting, domain name.
 - f. The editor and president helped with David Beard's special issue of the *Rhetor* journal, as well as Pierre Zoberman's issue of *Rhetor*.
 - g. The CASDW (Canadian Society for the Study of Discourse and Writing) and the Canadian Society for Renaissance Studies (CSRS) were interested in doing some joint programming, which we may consider for next year.
 - h. Tasks for next year:
 - i. Continue to develop our membership
 - ii. Support colleagues in developing rhetorical studies within their institutions
 - iii. Develop the future executive
 - iv. Redevelop the website
 - v. Develop our publications
 - vi. Consider ways to honour the memory of Michael Purves-Smith (perhaps a "Best Article"; dedicating *Rhetor 8* to Michael's memory
 - vii. Find keynote speakers (one French-speaking, one English-speaking, and ideally, one of the them would be international and funded by the Federation).
 - i. Moved acceptance of the report: Jeanie; seconded, John.
- 4. Vice-President's Report (appended)
- 5. Secretary-Treasurer's Report (appended)

- a. \$2504.16 in revenue, 1098.87 in expenses, net gain of 1405.29 in 2017-2018.
- b. CSSR continues to collect EBSCO royalties
- c. Someone asked about the what expenses are stable and which aren't: things like catering, printing, and website hosting are not as stable as things like Congress fees. It is likely that membership will remain stable.
- d. Move to accept: Bruce; seconded by Andrew.
- 6. Webmaster's Report
 - a. Bruce acknowledged Tania's and Benoît's support with the website.
 - b. It is likely we'll move towards a rhetcanada.org domain, while maintaining the current site during the transition.
 - c. Bruce anticipates doing some aesthetic work with the site to convey how diverse RhetCanada is.
 - d. Bruce would like to review social media strategies, aiming for a more strategic direction.
 - e. Motion to approve: Jeanie; seconded, Benoît
- 7. *Rhetor* Update (appended)
 - a. Tracy Whalen was elected (in 2016) Editor for a two-year term starting in 2017, and has now published her call for papers for the next issue.
 - b. Motion to approve: John; seconded, Stephen.
- 8. Business Arising from the Minutes: none
- 9. Committees and Elections
 - a. Tania is proposing several member positions to develop the executive
 - i. Executive Committee (non-students)
 - 1. Member at Large needed
 - 2. Secretary-Treasurer in Training needed for future succession
 - a. Motion to approve creation of this position, John. All were in favour.
 - 3. Member at Large: Burton Urquhart
 - 4. Secretary-Treasurer in Training: Andrew McGillivray
 - ii. Advisory Committee (which reviews conference proposals)
 - 1. Student Member: **Devon Moriarty** (9), Monique (1)
 - Regular Member (needed for staggering terms): Corey Owen (3), Benoît Sans (7)
 - iii. Membership Development: **Sean Zwagerman., Bruce Dadey, Benoît Sans, Kyle Gerber** (Andrew will take the lead, and will report to Tania).
 - 1. Motion to approve task force: Jeanie; seconded, Devon.
 - Website redesign & social media assistants/advisors: Devon Moriarty will jump onto this team as well, to join Bruce Dadey and his existing social media team of M. Shivaun Corry, Ryan McGuckin, Brandon Katzir (now Assoc Prof at Oklahoma City)
- 10. Future Conferences: Theme: "Rhetorics of Hope"
- 11. New Business
 - a. Finding a way to award financial prizes?

- i. Jeanie motioned we offer a \$300 student prize; John seconded. All were in favour.
- b. Finding a way to honour Michael Purves-Smith
 - i. A permanent named prize in his name
 - ii. A dedication in *Rhetor 8*, in the editor's intro.
 - iii. Jeanie moved both these (i and ii) items be accepted; Benoît seconded.
 - iv. Further discussion: Benoît suggested the student prize be named in his honour. Bruce seconded the motion. All were in favour.
- c. Finding keynote speakers
 - i. Bruce suggested sending out an email with a "call for nominations." Tania moved we do this; Bruce, seconded. All were in favour.
- d. Benoît suggested we continue to consider the "roundtable" format at the end of the day. This idea was well-supported.
- 12. Meeting adjourned 5:20