Minutes for the Annual General Meeting for RhetCanada/CSSR Vancouver, BC 6 June 2019

In attendees: Tracy Whalen, Masa Torbica, Céline Pieters, Devon Moriarty, Bruce Dadey, Benoit Sans, Julie Dainville, David Beard, Kyle Gerber, Andrew McGillivray, Tania Smith

Meeting called to order by Tania Smith at 4:12pm

Items

- **1.** Approval of agenda
- -D. Moriarty moves to approve agenda; K. Gerber seconds
- 2. Review of minutes from 2018 AGM; Approval of minutes from 2018
- -T. Whalen moves to approve; B. Sans seconds
- -suggestion to feature Michael Purves-Smith award in future conference programs
- **3.** President's Report (T. Smith); see report
- -B. Dadey moves to approve; D. Beard seconds
- **4.** Vice-presidents report (D. Beard)
- -K. Gerber moves to approve; J. Dainville seconds
- 5. Secretary-Treasurer report (J. Moffet, in absentia; read by A. McGillivray); see report
- -B. Sans moves to approve; B. Dadey seconds
- **6.** Webmaster's report (B. Dadey); see report
- -T. Whalen moves to approve; K. Gerber seconds
- 7. Rhetor journal editor's report (T. Whalen); see report
- -J. Dainville moves to approve; M. Torbica seconds
- **8.** Business arising from the minutes:
- -membership fee raise: students from \$15 to \$25 (with the option for a subsidy upon request);
- -T. Smith moves the motion; D. Beard seconds; all present vote; votes are "all in favour" -association fee raise for both regular members and students; Student association fees rise from \$27 to 35 and regular members rise from \$47 to \$55; these fees represent the *before the early-bird deadline* fee
- -T. Smith moves the motion; D. Beard seconds; all present vote; votes are "all in favour" -membership fee for regular members rise from \$40 to \$55
 - -T. Smith moves the motion; T. Whalen seconds; all present vote; votes are "all in favour"

-discussion about concurrent sessions in the program; there is a consensus that a goal for future conferences should be to reduce concurrent sessions without increasing catering fees

9. Committees and elections -Past-president: Tania Smith -President: Bruce Dadey -Vice-President: Benoit Sans

-Secretary-Treasurer: Andrew McGillivray

-Member-at-Large: Sigrid Streit

-Rhetor Editor: Tracy Whalen; no vote required

-Webmaster: Bruce Dadey (with Shivaun Correy as social media person); no vote required

-the new executive motion is moved by T. Smith; seconded by J. Dainville; all present vote; votes are "all in favour" for the slate of new positions.

Note: the point was raised that there is no student on the executive committee; six weeks before next year's AGM a motion should be circulated among all RhetCanada members that there will be an election of a Student Member to the Executive Committee (Actionable Item)

Advisory committee votes:

- -Julie Dainville voted on to committee for 2019-2021
- -David Beard voted on to the committee for 2019-2021
 - -Moved by T. Smith; seconded by D. Moriarty; all present vote; votes are "all in favour"

Student prize committee:

- -David Beard nominated; terms of reference need to be updated
- -further recruitment will take place by email before proposals for next conference come in

Membership working group:

- -continue to disseminate CFPs
- -creation of a RhetCanada magazine (non-peer reviewed, such as a blogzine)
- -membership working group disbanded

Ad-hoc conference planning committee: Kyle Gerber, Devon Moriarty, Masa Torbica, Céline Pieters (Benoit Sans, VP, will lead the conference planning working group)

10. Conference 2020 theme: *Bridging Divides*

Meeting adjourned by Tania Smith at 6:19pm