## Minutes for the Annual General Meeting for RhetCanada / CSSR

Video Conference 4 June 2020

In attendance: Bruce Dadey, Tracy Whalen, Liwei Zhang, Michael Dudley, Monique Kampherm, Kyle Gerber, David Mirhandy, Devon Moriarty, Sigrid Streit, Brad Mehlenbacher, David Beard, Andrea Valente, Benoît Sans, Julie Dainville, Shannon Lodoen, Andrew McGillivray

Meeting called to order by B. Dadey at 4:09pm (Toronto time)

## Items:

- 1. Approval of Agenda
- -T. Whalen moved; D. Beard seconded
- 2. Review / Approval of 2019 AGM minutes
- -D. Moriarty moved; M. Kampherm seconded
- -poll for approval of minutes; passed
- 3. Business arising from the minutes
- -proposal to add a graduate student member to the executive, which requires an amendment to the constitution; members will vote to make an amendment to the constitution; B. Dadey describes the amendment to the constitution (see appendix for specific wording of the amendment)
- -B. Mehlenbacher moved the motion to add a 1-year graduate student position to the executive; D. Mirhandy seconded
- -opened up for discussion
  - -the nominee needs to be a graduate student at time of election, but can graduate during their tenure in the position
  - -graduate student member of the executive can stand for re-election
  - -nominating committee will seek out nominees
- -poll for approval of motion; passed
- 4. Review of the terms of reference for the Michael Purves-Smith Student Paper Award; the dollar amount for the award will be removed from the terms of reference, and the executive will now decide on the amount of the award from year to year with consideration of the financial status of the organization
- -K. Gerber moved, B. Sans seconded
  - -poll for approval; passed
- -terms of reference for the Michael Purves-Smith Student Paper Award adjusted to indicate that a student cannot win the award in successive years
  - -T. Whalen moved; D. Beard seconded
  - -poll for approval; passed

- -creation of an undergraduate student award for best paper (name of award to be determined) with the same terms of reference as the Michael Purves-Smith Student Paper Award
  - -T. Whalen moved; A. McGillivray seconded
  - -poll for approval; approved
- -every year at the AGM the executive will propose a dollar amount for the two student prizes
- 4. Reports
- -President's report (B. Dadey); see report
  - -B. Sans moved to approve report; M. Kampherm seconded
  - -poll given; report accepted
- -Secretary-Treasurer's report (A. McGillivray); see report
  - -poll given; report accepted
- -Rhetor journal editor's report (T. Whalen); see report
  - -poll given; report accepted
- -Webmaster's report (B. Dadey); see report
  - -poll given; report accepted
- 5. No business arising from reports
- 6. Committees and elections
- -member-at-large of executive committee
  - -Sigrid Streit has served as member-at-large for last year, and offers to stand again
  - -poll given; accepted
- -student member of the executive
  - -Kyle Gerber offers to stand as a candidate
  - -poll given; accepted
- -Editorial committee presented to the members
  - -Michael Dudley (4-year term)
  - -Julie Dainville (4-year term)
  - -Alice Den Otter (2-year term)
- -Advisory committee
  - -David Beard (currently on the committee)
  - -Julie Dainville (currently on the committee)
  - -3 more members needed to fill the committee
  - -1 incoming member needs to be a graduate student

- -Maša Torbica offers to stand as candidate for the graduate student member position
  - -poll to acclaim; approved
- -2 regular members needed (non-grad students)
  - -Tess Laidlaw, Brad Mehlenbacher, Jeanie Wills, and John Moffatt all offer to stand as candidates
  - -4 polls were given, one for each candidate, and members are asked to vote twice
    - -vote for Brad Mehlenbacher
    - -vote for Tess Laidlaw
    - -vote for Jeanie Wills
    - -vote for John Moffatt
  - -results: Brad Mehlenbacher and Tess Laidlaw elected as regular members to the Advisory committee
- -Student prize committee
  - -David Beard is currently on the committee
  - -Benoît Sans is currently on the committee
  - -David Mirhady offers to join the committee
- -Conference planning committee
  - -B. Dadey will follow up with other members to recruit participants for this committee
  - -Monique Kampherm offers to join the committee
  - -Devon Moriarty offers to join the committee
- -Shivaun Corry and Devon Moriarty will continue with Social Media
- 7. Next year's conference is already full, with 33 papers accepted
- -the theme of Building Bridges will be kept for next year
- 8. Other business
- -B. Dadey will send out a couple emails a year to collect information about members' recent publications, useful resources, etc.
- -D. Mirhandy announced the International Society for the History of Rhetoric (ISHR) conference for 2021 has been postponed to 2022 (to take place in the Netherlands); this same conference will be held in Vancouver in 2024

Meeting adjourned by B. Dadey about 6:00pm (Toronto time).

Appendix: specific set of motions associated with the constitutional amendment outlined in item 3 above

**Student Member Position** 

Motions related to the Student Member position, passed as a package at the RhetCanada 2020 AGM:

1. That section 4.1.2 of the RhetCanada constitution be amended to read as follows:

The membership of the Executive Committee shall consist of the President, the Past President, the Vice-President, the Secretary-Treasurer, the Member-at-Large, the Student Member, the Editor (ex officio, non-voting), and the Webmaster (ex officio, non-voting).

2. That a new section be added to the RhetCanada Constitution:

## Student Member

- 4.1.10 The Student Member shall be elected at the Annual General Meeting for a term of one year.
- 4.1.10.1 The Student Member shall be actively enrolled in any graduate university program at the time of election.
- 4.1.10.2 The Student Member is eligible to stand for election or re-election if they are currently a member in good standing.
- 3. That section 4.3.3 of the RhetCanada constitution be amended to read as follows:
  - 4.3.3. Other Positions: Annually, the Nominating Committee shall solicit suggestions from the membership for Member-at-Large, the Student Member, and for membership on the Advisory Committee.