Minutes for the Annual General Meeting for RhetCanada

Video Conference 15 June 2021, 4:00-5:30 p.m. EDT

In attendance: Andrew McGillivray, Bruce Dadey, John Moffat, Tracy Whalen, Monique Kampherm, Jonathan Doering, Randy Harris, Sigrid Streit, Michael Dudley, Brad Mehlenbacher, Ryan McGuckin, David Beard, Kyle Gerber, Ahmad Saidullah, Andrea Valente, Jeffry Orr, Tania Smith, Benoît Sans, Julie Dainville

Meeting called to order by B. Dadey at 4:10pm (Toronto time)

Land acknowledgement read by B. Dadey: "I'd like to acknowledge the Indigenous Peoples of all the lands that we are on today. While we meet here on a virtual platform, we should take a moment to recognize the importance of the land on which we are each located. We acknowledge the territory to reaffirm our commitment and responsibility in building positive relationships between nations and in developing a deep understanding of Indigenous peoples and their cultures. From coast to coast to coast, we acknowledge the ancestral and unceded territory of all Inuit, First Nations, and Métis peoples.

I personally acknowledge that I live and work on the traditional territory of the Neutral, Anishnaabe, and Haudenosaunee peoples. The University of Waterloo is situated on the Haldimand Tract, land promised to Six Nations, which includes six miles on each side of the Grand River."

1. Approval of Agenda; see agenda

-show of hands for approval

2. Approval of 2020 AGM minutes; see 2020 AGM minutes

-show of hands for approval

3. Business arising from the minutes

-no business arising from minutes

4. Reports

- a. President's report (B. Dadey); see report
- -J. Moffat moves; T. Whalen seconds; approved
- b. Secretary-Treasurer's report (A. McGillivray); see report
- -K. Gerber moves; J. Moffat seconds; approved
- c. Rhetor Editor's report (T. Whalen); see report
- -M. Kampherm moves; B. Mehlenbacher seconds; approved

- d. Webmaster's report (B. Dadey)
- -no report, as no news on that front

5. Business arising from the reports

-no business arising from reports

6. Committees and elections

- a. Executive Committee Elections
- i. President
- -B. Dadey stands for President; poll opened; acclaimed
- ii. Vice-President
- -B. Sans stands for V-P; poll opened; acclaimed
- iii. Secretary-Treasurer
- -A. McGillivray stands for S-T; poll is opened; acclaimed
- -K. Gerber stands for S-T in training; poll opened; acclaimed
- iv. Member at large
- -S. Streit stands for Member at large; poll opened; acclaimed
- v. Student member (if amendment is accepted)
- -M. Kampherm stands for Student member; poll opened; acclaimed
- vi. Chief Editor
- -J. Dainville and J. Moffat stand for co-editor positions; poll is opened; acclaimed
- b. Committees
- i. Advisory committee (2 members needed)
- -R. McGuckin and R. Harris stand for membership; poll opened; acclaimed
- ii. Student prize committee (3 members needed)
- -T. Whalen, D. Beard, and J. Moffat stand for membership; poll opened; acclaimed
- iii. Conference planning committee
- -J. Moffat, D. Beard, and J. Doering volunteer

7. RhetCanada 2021 conference

- a. Theme
- -theme suggestions are volunteered
- -Rhetoric: (Re)Conciliation, Resilience, Recovery is chosen as the 2022 conference theme by acclamation

8. Other business

- a. student paper award winners:
- -Shannon Lodoen and Maab Alkurdi announced as winners
- b. an additional student paper
- -R. Harris moves to add a 3^{rd} student prize for this year (175 + 175 + 150), because no prizes were awarded in 2020 due to cancellation of the conference during the pandemic; K. Gerber seconds; motion passed

Meeting adjourned by B. Dadey about 5:55pm (Toronto time).