# RhetCanada/CSSR Annual General Meeting

1 June 2023, 1:30-3:30 p.m. EDT Calumet College 211, York University, Toronto, Ontario

#### Present:

- In Person: Bruce Dadey, Andrea Valente, Sigrid Streit, Jonathan Doering, Shivaun Corry, Mark Wallin, Randy Harris, David Mirhady, Kyle Gerber, Shannon Lodoen, Monique Kampherm
- **Virtual**: David Beard, Maša Torbica, Ryan McGuckin, Benoit Sans, Wendy Shilton (logged in after some voting had happened: Brad Mehlenbacher, Loren Gaudet)

Bruce Dadey called the meeting to order at 1:35 p.m.

- 1. Approval of Agenda
  - a. Motion: Mark Wallin
  - b. Seconded: Jonathan Doering
  - c. All in favour
- 2. Approval of 2022 AGM minutes
  - a. Jonathan Doering
  - b. Shivaun Corry
  - c. Two abstentions; all others in favour
- 3. Business arising from the minutes
- 4. Reports
  - a) President's report (Bruce Dadey)
  - b) b. Secretary-Treasurer's report (Kyle Gerber)
    - a. comments: Kyle and the executive will continue to pursue receiving outstanding EBSCO payments
  - c) Rhetor Editor's report (Julie Dainville/John Moffatt)
    - a. Comments: clarification required on opportunity for student-award winners
- 5. Business arising from the reports
  - No business arose from the reports
  - Motion to receive the reports: Shivaun Corry
  - Seconded: Mark Wallin
  - All in favour

#### 6. Committees and elections

- a) Executive Committee Elections
  - a. President:
    - i. Jon Doering to stand for president
      - 1. No additional nominations
      - 2. Motion to acclaim: Shivaun Corry
      - 3. Seconded: Mark Wallin
      - 4. All in favour

# b. Vice-president

- i. David Beard stands for vice-president
  - 1. No additional nominations
  - 2. Motion to acclaim: Shivaun Corry
  - 3. Seconded: Monique Kampherm
  - 4. All in favour

# c. Member-at-large

- i. Monique Kampherm stands for member-at-large
  - 1. No additional nominations
  - 2. Motion to acclaim: Shannon Lodoen
  - 3. Seconded: Jonathan Doering
  - 4. All in favour

## d. Student member

- i. Shannon Lodoen stands for student-member
  - 1. No additional nominations
  - 2. Motion to acclaim: Randy Harris
  - 3. Seconded: Mark Wallin
  - 4. All in favour

#### e. Rhetor editors

- i. John Moffatt and Julie Danville stand for editors
  - 1. no additional nominations
  - 2. Motion to acclaim: Shannon Lodoen
  - 3. Seconded: Andrea Valente
  - 4. All in favour

## f. Webmaster

- i. Bruce Dadey stands for webmaster
  - 1. No additional nominations
  - 2. Motion to acclaim: Mark Wallin
  - 3. Seconded: Monique Kampherm
  - 4. All in favour

## b) Committees

- a. Advisory committee (2 members)
  - i. Randy Harris and Ryan McGuckin stand for advisory committee
    - 1. Motion to acclaim: Monique Kahmpherm
    - 2. Seconded: Shannon Lodoen
    - 3. All in favour
- b. Student prize committee (3 members)
  - i. John Moffatt, David Beard, Ryan McGuckin stand for student prize committee
    - 1. Motion to acclaim: Mark Wallin
    - 2. Seconded: Randy Harris
    - 3. All favour
- c. Conference planning committee
  - i. Benoit Sans, Sigrid Streit, Shannon, Monique, Loren, Bruce
    - 1. no action necessary (volunteer committee)
- d. Social media committee
  - i. Shannon Lodoen
  - ii. Comments: Shannon will attend to Facebook and Twitter as needed

## 7. RhetCanada 2024 conference

- Congress will be held at McGill (Montreal), May 8-17. Primarily in person, not hybrid.
  Virtual platform: can show pre-recorded sessions, can record sessions for display after
  Congress
  - [Note: after the AGM, and before these minutes were finalized, the 2024
    Congress dates were adjusted to May 21-29, 2024.]
- can hold virtual-only sessions; no tech support
- no Congress theme selected
- registration fees: regular: early bird 210, regular 253 / on site 290; student: 85/110/145 (no fee if Black or Indigenous); underemployed: 190/230/260
- a. Venue
  - a. Took straw poll: 13 for congress, 10 for ISHR, 5 independent
  - b. The executive will make a decision about venue/date before the deadline

## b. Theme

a. Opening suggestions: Influence; Rhetorical Applications; Rhetoric Revived;
 Rhetoric Reclaimed; Where's the Rhetoric?; What's Rhetoric Got to Do With It?;
 Rhetoric, Disinformation, and Hate; Rhetoric and (Dis)information;
 Interdisciplinarity and Rhetoric; AI: Argumentative Imaginations and Rhetoric;

- b. "Where's the Rhetoric?" voted as the theme
- c. Organization and format
  - a. The executive committee will discuss this further pending review of a survey sent to the members
- d. Amount for 2024 Paper Prizes
  - a. \$300 each for Graduate and Undergraduate
    - i. Motion to accept: Jonathan Doering
    - ii. Seconded: Shannon Lodoen
    - iii. All in favour
- 8. Other business
  - a. Organizational promotion and development
    - a. Suggestions for development
      - i. Regional Connections
      - ii. Nodal Development
      - iii. Organized Panels
      - iv. More informal panels
      - v. Posters, materials
    - b. Volunteer Ad hoc committee to pursue questions of development
      - i. Wendy, Shannon, David, Mark, Masa
  - b. Webmaster addition
    - a. Jonathan Doering

Meeting adjourned at 3:35 p.m.